Florida Car Accident Laws; How Long Do You Have to Report a Auto Collision, Crash or Fender Bender in West Palm Beach, FL

There are many drivers that go through most of their life without ever being involved in a car collision or accident. However, when an accident happens, most feel disoriented and not sure as what to do when it occurs. If no one was seriously injured in the accident, there are simple protocols you can follow in the event you were involved in a minor fender bender. Affordable Towing & Junk Cars will share Florida’s state protocols on what to do if you find yourself involved in a car accident.

What to do After a Car Accident

Bear in mind that vehicular accidents are unpredictable and each situation can become unique on how it should be handled. These are some basic guidelines to help you react in the best way possible. In a minor accident and if your vehicle is still somewhat functioning, move your vehicle off to the side of the road or out of the way of other motorists. You may need help if your vehicle is no longer working, but still movable. If your vehicle is no longer functional you will also want to contact your preferred towing company.

Steps to Take After a Car Accident Injury

If someone has been hurt you should immediately call for law enforcement and medical assistance. If someone was injured you should get them help before you worry about anything else first. Remain close to the injured person and the scene of the accident until help arrives. You should not attempt to move the injured person yourself. Just stand by until medical assistance arrives. Tell the injured person not to move and to hold as still as possible. However if the injured person’s life is in immediate threat from other unsuspecting motorists, then you may attempt to move the person, but do so as carefully as possible.

Reporting an Automobile Accident

If all members involved in the accident are in good health while you wait for the arrival of law enforcement, begin to exchange full names, addresses, insurance information and registration numbers. Once law enforcement officers arrive on the scene, you should be prepared to give them your drivers license. They will most likely ask for proof of insurance and registration as well.

Contact Police After a Collision

In the case of a serious injury, death, a hit and run, or property damage that may exceed over $500 dollars worth of damage has occurred; Law enforcement should be contacted right away. Remain at the scene until they arrive. As a witness you will need to give the investigating officer your account of the event. The officer may request you to summit your own report. If so, this should be done within 10 days of the accident.

Accident Involving an Unoccupied Vehicle

In the event you may have hit another vehicle that was unoccupied, a vehicle in a parking lot for an example, you’re required to either wait for the owner of the vehicle to arrive or leave your name, number and license plate number. Additionally, report the collision to law enforcement right away.

Fast Accident Response, Towing & Roadside Assistance in Wellington, Boca Raton, Palm Beach Gardens, Jupiter & Loxahatchee & West Palm Beach, Florida

Depending on the severity of the accident, you may have to tow your vehicle to your home or preferred mechanic. In some cases you may need to trash it and sell your now wrecked junk car. It both situations, Affordable Towing & Junk Cars can help you review our services and see how we are able to help you after an accidents has occurred. Contact Affordable Towing & Junk Cars today.

Call Now Button