Is there an abandoned vehicle parked outside your property or in your neighborhood? Unless you know your state laws on abandoned vehicles, it can become rather difficult to know exactly what to do. That is why Affordable Junk Cars & Towing will share Florida’s laws on abandoned vehicles so you know what to do with that pesky abandoned car that has been in your neighborhood or even in front of your own yard.
Florida Statutes Chapter 705
In Florida statues Chapter 705 you will see Florida’s view on abandoned vehicles. You can also find similar information in city ordinances and codes for more details in each city as each city may vary. However the general state law in Florida requires citizens to report the abandoned vehicle to their local police department first. In many cases abandoned vehicles were stolen and then abandoned. By reporting it to the police, the owner may get the chance to reclaim their vehicle. However first the owner would need to file a notice before the vehicle can be reclaimed.
Laws on Reporting & Claiming Abandoned Vehicles on Private Property
As a general rule a vehicle is considered abandoned after the vehicle was unattended to for up to 35 hours or more. Additionally, city ordinances prohibit the abandonment of vehicles on real property within city limits. If a private citizen would like to gain possession of the vehicle they will still need to file a report to the police department. Once it has been filed and police notified as to the person who desires to obtain the abandoned vehicle, they will first run an ad in a widely circulated newspaper in the attempt to locate the actual owner first. After a certain amount of time passes without the original owner stepping forward, then the person can legally claim the abandoned vehicle.
Commercial Property Owners Options for Abandoned Vehicles
If a vehicle was left on a business or commercial property the owner will then contact a towing company to remove the vehicle either by their own pursuant or by law enforcement. If impounded, a lien will be set on the vehicle where the commercial owner will be responsible for any fees. However if the vehicle is then later claimed, the fees will be transferred to the vehicle’s owner. If the vehicle remains unclaimed within days the property owner will then have the right to take possession of the vehicle and sell it.
Police Options for Abandoned Vehicles
Florida’s statutes Section 705.103 states that law enforcement or police will handle the request to remove any abandoned vehicle. The police department is then required to contact Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to locate an owner and their lien holders contact information. After that they then send out a notice of the removal and possession of the abandoned vehicle. If the department doesn’t receive a reply within five days, the department then retains the right to auction, donate or sell the vehicle after 35 days of possession. There may be some restrictions however such as if the vehicle is under three years old then the vehicle must go unclaimed for 50 days rather than the 35 days.
Emergency Towing & Roadside Assistance in Wellington, Boca Raton, Palm Beach Gardens, Jupiter, Loxahatchee & West Palm Beach, Florida
Each state and city could vary in their laws on abandoned vehicles. However it is standard to always contact your law enforcement first and they will advise on how to proceed. Affordable Junk Cars & Towing hopes we were able to answer the question as what to do with an abandoned vehicle. For all of your towing or roadside assistance needs, contact Affordable Junk Cars & Towing today.